State TET and CTET photo size

Checked on 27 October 2026. A guide from Gauritanaya.

There is no one photograph size for every state’s Teacher Eligibility Test. The preset on this page is CTET February 2026 only, and it is labelled as CTET. A September 2026 CTET bulletin is listed on ctet.nic.in and was not read for these numbers. If that bulletin disagrees, it wins. A 2026 Karnataka TET photograph rule was not found for this page.

Open the CTET February 2026 photo preset

The short answer

A state TET follows that state’s notification. This site will not invent one KB band and call it the rule for every state. On 27 October 2026 a 2026 Karnataka TET photograph specification was not available to cite. Download the notification from your state education department and type its numbers into My own size.

CTET is the Central Teacher Eligibility Test, conducted by CBSE. It is not a state TET. The February 2026 information bulletin states:

  • Photograph: JPG/JPEG, 10 to 100 KB, 3.5 cm wide × 4.5 cm high.
  • Signature: JPG/JPEG, 3 KB to 30 KB, 3.5 cm long × 1.5 cm high.

The bulletin does not state pixels or a DPI. At 300 DPI, 3.5 × 4.5 cm is about 413 × 531 pixels. That is the tool’s conversion. It is not 200 × 230 px, which is the IBPS upload size. Do not use the IBPS preset for CTET.

Open the CTET photo preset Open the CTET signature preset My own size for a state TET

September 2026 CTET

ctet.nic.in lists a CTET September 2026 information bulletin. Its PDF was not read on 27 October 2026. If you are applying to that session, use that PDF’s photograph lines. The preset remains the February 2026 bulletin until those lines are checked.

If the portal says the file is too small

Some portals re-check the width and height after you upload, or they strip extra data from the JPEG. When a picture is still under the minimum KB after a high-quality save, the resizer adds blank comment data. That does not change the picture. If the portal removes it, the file can fall under the minimum again. Move Aim for to the right and download again. Use a larger pixel size only when the notice allows it, so the JPEG itself is heavy enough.

Other exams are listed on Exam photo and signature size. The resizer stays at /exam-photo-resizer/.

Limits

The preset is CTET February 2026, not “all state TETs” and not the unread September 2026 bulletin. 413 × 531 px is 3.5 × 4.5 cm at 300 DPI. CTET did not state that DPI. No Karnataka TET 2026 file size is given, because none was verified. No promise that CBSE or a state council will accept the file.

Sources

Sources checked on 27 October 2026 (Asia/Calcutta). Where a notice and this page disagree, the notice wins.

FAQ

Can I use the CTET preset for my state TET?
Only if your state’s notice copies those numbers. Many do not. The button is labelled CTET February 2026. For a state test, type the size from that state’s PDF.
Why is 3.5 × 4.5 cm not 200 × 230 pixels?
They are different sizes. 200 × 230 px is the preferred IBPS upload. CTET states centimetres and a KB band, and it does not state pixels. At 300 DPI the centimetre size is about 413 × 531 px.
What about Karnataka TET?
A 2026 photograph rule from the Karnataka education department was not found for this page. Use that department’s notification. Do not borrow the CTET numbers unless the notification says to.
Does CTET capture a live photo?
The February 2026 bulletin describes an uploaded scan of the photograph and the signature, not a live capture. Read the session you are applying to in case that has changed.