SSC CGL 2026 photo and signature size
Checked on 27 October 2026. A guide from Gauritanaya.
This page follows the SSC CGL Examination 2026 notice (F. No. HQ-C11018/1/2026-C-1), which the notice says was to be uploaded on ssc.gov.in on 21 May 2026. A later SSC notice wins. The resizer does not capture the live photograph, and it does not promise that SSC will accept the file.
Open the SSC signature preset (6 × 2 cm)
The short answer
For SSC CGL 2026 you do not upload a photograph file. The application captures it live. You do upload a scanned signature in JPEG/JPG, 10 to 20 KB.
Paragraph 9.6, and the same line repeated in the how-to-apply annex, says the signature should be about 6.0 cm wide × 2.0 cm high. The sample-form instructions in that same notice say about 4.0 cm wide × 2.0 cm high. SSC does not state pixels or a DPI. The preset uses 6.0 × 2.0 cm. At 300 DPI the resizer turns that into about 709 × 236 pixels. That pixel pair is this tool’s conversion, not a number in the notice. If the portal rejects it, try the 4.0 cm width from the sample form, or a lower print resolution.
Open the 6 × 2 cm signature preset Open the 4 × 2 cm sample-form size
What the notice says
| File | What SSC CGL 2026 states |
|---|---|
| Photograph | No file. The form captures you live. Good light, plain background, camera at eye level, face inside the frame, no cap, mask or spectacles. Do not photograph a printed photo. Candidates who use Aadhaar authentication are told their application will not be rejected for the photograph or signature standards. |
| Signature | JPEG/JPG, 10 to 20 KB. About 6.0 cm (width) × 2.0 cm (height) in para 9.6. About 4.0 cm × 2.0 cm in the sample-form annex of the same PDF. No pixel size. |
What to do with the resizer
- Sign in dark ink on white paper and photograph or scan it.
- Open the signature preset. It sets 6.0 × 2.0 cm and 10–20 KB.
- SSC did not state a DPI. The tool’s print resolution starts at 300 DPI unless you change it. Lower it if the portal complains about a large pixel image.
- Move Aim for so the file sits inside 10–20 KB, a little under 20 KB.
- The live photograph happens inside SSC’s form, not in this tool.
If the portal says the file is too small
Some portals re-check the width and height after you upload, or they strip extra data from the JPEG. When a picture is still under the minimum KB after a high-quality save, the resizer adds blank comment data. That does not change the picture. If the portal removes it, the file can fall under the minimum again. Move Aim for to the right and download again. Use a larger pixel size only when the notice allows it, so the JPEG itself is heavy enough.
Other exams are listed on Exam photo and signature size. The resizer stays at /exam-photo-resizer/.
Limits
Not a substitute for the CGL 2026 notice or a later SSC exam notice (CHSL and others can differ). The 709 × 236 pixel figure is 6.0 × 2.0 cm at 300 DPI, rounded. It is not an SSC pixel rule. No promise that the upload will be accepted.
Sources
- SSC CGL Examination, 2026 notice (F. No. HQ-C11018/1/2026-C-1). Para 9.4–9.6: live photograph; signature JPEG/JPG, 10 to 20 KB, about 6.0 cm × 2.0 cm. The sample-form annex in the same PDF says about 4.0 cm × 2.0 cm.
- Exam photo resizer
Sources checked on 27 October 2026 (Asia/Calcutta). Where a notice and this page disagree, the notice wins.